The Franklin Electric Release New Single “Are We Together Now”; Nominated For Breakthrough Artist Of The Year At 2018 Junos

Montreal-based alt-folk band The Franklin Electric release the invigorating new single “Are We Together Now”. The band recently enjoyed their trip to the 2018 Juno Awards after their nomination for “Breakthrough Group of the Year”. The band was excited for the opportunity to participate in several pre-Juno events including Juno Fest. The band is currently working on new music and will have details on the upcoming album soon.

Jon Matte had this to say about the new single:

This tune is about about how disconnected we are from each other and mainly ourselves, too busy chasing a false sense of satisfaction and feeding that emptiness. Social media culture sells ideals & dreams while mental health issues are drastically on the rise. After seeing myself venture down this shallow road of quick thrills and avoiding my true self, the song was written to shed a light on these feelings that bring us together in this disconnection, a craving for something real.”

The song was recorded in the beautiful country side of Kent in the UK towards the end our last fall European tour. We had been playing the song live and got the chance to record it with UK producer & engineer Barney Barnicott. Schedules worked out perfectly so here it is, ‘Are We Together Now’!

After entering and winning a Nashville Songwriting Competition with over 8000 bands from around the world in 2012, the Canadian alt-pop-rock band The Franklin Electric would release their lightning-bolt debut record This Is How I Let You Down in 2014 and support slots would follow with Ben Howard, Mumford and Sons, Edward Sharpe, Phillip Phillips, City & Colour and Half Moon Run amongst a few. Having found their tribe, they’d spend 2015-2017 playing over 300 shows from Canada to Australia, 7 tours across Europe alone, with ecstatic reviews across the board. In February 2017 the Montreal band returned with a highly anticipated second album titled Blue Ceilings: a mature, fully-formed sound embracing the riddles of life and love, music that would cast a spell. Their 2 records combined have generating over 10 million streams and a healthy following on their socials.

Singer and multi-instrumentalist Jon Matte is the focal point of the group, with a cast of musicians that include Martin Desrosby (bass), Adam Passalacqua (drums) and Ken Pressé (gtr). Critics and fans have responded to Matte’s unique voice and his intuitive, compelling songwriting, but also to the singular, standout sound of an instrument still uncommon in pop: the trumpet. “The horn’s always going to be a secret weapon,” Matte says, smiling. “Something I can pull out and people go ‘What the fuck’? To me it’s always been an anthemic instrument – it’s a battle call.”

More information on the upcoming release and tour dates will be announced as available.

Tour Dates:
07.15 – Quebec City @ Festival d’été de Québec

Be the first to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.


This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.